Dairy-free Doughnuts recipe | MyDish

Dairy-free Doughnuts

This vegan baked doughnuts recipe is a dairy-free, egg-free treat for kids and adults. Much healthier than traditional deep-fried doughnuts.

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 375 F. Lightly oil a large baking sheet and set aside.

2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the yeast with the warm water, stirring to dissolve. Let the mixture stand for several minutes.

3. Meanwhile, combine the warm dairy-free milk, sugar, salt, and dairy-free soy margarine, stirring well to dissolve the sugar and melt the margarine. Add the mixture to the yeast mixture, stirring well to combine. Add the potato starch and flour, one cup at a time, until a soft dough forms. On a lightly floured surface, turn out the dough and knead. Place in a lightly oiled bowl, cover, and set in a warm place for 1 hour.

4. Roll out the dough until about 1/2 inch thick. Flour a round cutter about 3-4" inches in diameter, and cut out the doughnuts, placing them on the baking sheet as you work. Punch out the doughnut "holes" with a smaller round cutter, and either discard the holes or place them on the sheet. Cover the doughnuts loosely with a paper towel and let rise in a warm place until double, about 45 minutes to 1 hour.

5. Bake in the oven until lightly golden, about 8 minutes.

6. Prepare the glaze. In a small bowl, whisk together the confectioners sugar, hot water and plain soy yogurt until well combined. Glaze the doughnuts immediately and enjoy.

Ingredients

All-purpose Flour 5 cups
Potato Starch 2 tbsp.
Dairy-free Soy Margarine 2 tbsp.
Salt 1 tsp.
Agave Nectar 4 tbsp.
White Granulated Sugar 0.5 cup
Warm Dairy-free Almond Milk 1 cup
Warm Water 0.5 cup
Active Dry Yeast 2 envelopes

For the Glaze

Sugar 1 cup
Hot Water 1 tbsp.
Plain Soy Yogurt 1 tbsp.

Hints 'n' Tips

Comments

Leave a Comment:

login to leave comments
What is 'agave nectar', please? And 'confectioner's sugar'?
Looked up AGAVE NECTAR on the internet and here's the gist of the description:

While agave (pronounced ah-GAH-vay) is best recognized as the plant from which tequila is made, it has also been used for thousands of years as an ingredient in food. The nectar made from the plant is known in Mexico as aguamiel, or "honey water."

The Aztecs prized the agave as a gift from the gods and used the liquid from its core to flavor foods and drinks. Now, due to increasing awareness of agave nectar's many beneficial properties, it is becoming the preferred sweetener of health conscious consumers, doctors, and natural foods cooks alike.

Agaves are large, spikey plants that resemble cactus or yuccas in both form and habitat, but they are actually succulents similar to the familiar Aloe Vera.

Lighter and darker varieties of agave nectar are made from the same plants. Because of the low temperatures used in processing many varieties (under 118°F) raw foods enthusiasts generally regard agave nectar as a raw food.

The taste of agave nectar is comparable, though not identical, to honey. Many people who do not like the taste of honey find agave a more palatable choice. It also has none of the bitter aftertaste associated with artificial sweeteners.

Most brands offer two types: a light and a dark. The darker syrups are filtered less, and the solids left in the syrup make for a stronger nectar with a flavor sometimes compared to maple syrup.

(Thanks for the introduction to this natural sweetener, Laurie!)





Taste Blog

What the hell is a dinkelbrot? you cry Well its rather similar to a dampfnudel only in that it is a bread. Yes folks in this article we shall explore the rising world of global breads and the uniqu... keep reading

Accompaniment

Origin Pinot Grigio Organic